MGP withdraws support to BJP in Goa; to back Congress Candidates in Lok Sabha Polls 2019

A Day after announcing its support to Congress Lok Sabha Candidates, the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) Working President Deepal Dhavalikar on Friday announced that his party is withdrawing support to the BJP government in Goa.

Speaking to media, Dhavalikar said, “Our party has officially decided to withdraw support to the BJP-led Government in Goa’. He added that the party will soon submit a letter to Goa Governor Mridula Sinha soon on the issue.

The Development came hours after the Central Committee of Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party had on Thursday passed a resolution announcing its support to Congress Candidates on both the parliamentary seats of Goa.

READ l 2 MGP Lawmakers split to merge with BJP in Goa; Mid-Night Development fumes Congress

Congress in a run-up to the General Elections 2019 has named Girish Chodankar from North Goa and Francisco Sardinha from South Goa.

It should be noted that in a mid-night drama in March last month two MLAs out of the total three from MGP in Goa Assembly split to merge MGP with Bharatiya Janata Party. MLA Manohar Ajgaonkar and Dipak Pawaskar gave a letter the Goa Assembly Speaker Michael Lobo at 1:45 am stating the merge of MGP legislature party with the BJP.

However, third Lawmaker Sudin Dhavalikar who was appointed Deputy to CM Pramod Sawant was dropped later after he did not sign the letter supporting  MGP Split.

The difference between MGP and BJP emerged following the death of Incumbent CM Manohar Parrikar. MGP once an ally of Congress from 2007 to 2012 has been in partner with BJP since 2012.

After the latest development in the tiniest state, the BJP-led coalition will continue to enjoy a majority in the 36 member assembly. BJP in the assembly has 14 MLAs (Including two MGP who split to join the saffron party), while it has a support of 3 MLAs each from Goa Forward Party and Independent.

The Half-way mark is 19.

While the Opposition includes Congress’s 12, one from Nationalist Congress Party legislator and now one MGP lawmaker.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here